Palmyra Township, Portage County Ohio
Structure of Government PDF Print E-mail
Written by Palmyra Township   
Tuesday, 30 August 2005 18:21

Structure of Government

The Township is governed by a three-member Board of Trustees and a Fiscal Officer, all of whom are elected to their positions for a term of four years. The terms are staggered so that every two years, either one Trustee and the Clerk, or two Trustees, are elected.

The Board of Trustees is the overall governing body of the Township. They decide issues of Township policy, and are responsible for the expenditure of all Township funds, as well as the hiring of Township employees. The Fiscal Officer is the chief fiscal officer of the Township. In addition to financial obligations, the Fiscal Officer maintains the minutes of the meetings of the Board of Trustees, as well as other township records.

The authority of Township government is limited only to those specific duties which are delegated by Ohio law. Unlike cities and villages, townships do not have the authority to pass ordinances – only resolutions – which are considered township law. Many of the services commonly associated with local government are under the legal jurisdiction of the County and State government. These include animal control, sewer, maintenance of County and State highways within the Township, environmental protection and public health.

Board of Trustees Meetings

The Palmyra Township Board of Trustees hold regular meetings on the second Tuesday at 7:00pm and the fourth Tuesday at 9:30am every month, at the Fire Station Meeting Room, 3956 State Route 225. All regular, special and emergency meetings are open to the public.
Last Updated on Thursday, 05 June 2008 21:39

Find more about Weather in Diamond, OH

Mailing Address:
Palmyra Township Trustees
c/o Kathleen S. Cofojohn, Fiscal Officer
10100 Williams Rd
Diamond, OH  44412

Palmyra Township, Powered by Joomla! and designed by SiteGround web hosting